Wallace and Lockwood head for Argentina

Paul Lockwood (Hessle, Yorkshire) and Matthew Wallace (Moor Park, Hertfordshire) will attempt to extend England’s fine record in the event when they represent the EGU in the Juan Carlos Tailhade Cup at Los Lagartos Country Club in Buenos Aires, Argentina on the 10th – 13th November.

The annual 72-hole stroke play championship in which the aggregate scores of both players count, has seen a number of English players taking the honours.

Nick Dougherty and Gary Wolstenholme won in 2000 and were succeeded in 2001 by Zane Scotland and David Skinns. Gary Lockerbie and Michael Skelton succeeded in 2003, Seve Benson and Ed Richardson in 2006, while Sam Hutsby and Chris Wood were runners-up in the following year.

There is also an individual award and Andrew Sullivan captured that last year after a playoff.

Lockwood, 19  a former boy cap, made his full international debut against Spain at The Berkshire last May. Runner-up in the Carris Trophy in 2010, he finished second in the Titleist/FootJoy EGU Boys Order of Merit last year and has enjoyed a successful 2011. Beside his full England cap, he finished joint third in the North of England Youths Championship, tied fourth in the Lee Westwood Trophy, fifth in the Riverswood Junior Open in Holland, sixth in the West of England Stroke Play Championship and equal eighth in the Lytham Trophy.

Like Lockwood, Wallace, 21,(pictured) is a member of the England training squad for this winter and 2012, having emerged over the last two years. After topping the South East Qualifier and finishing third in the Tillman Trophy in 2010, this year has seen him finish runner-up in the Berkshire Trophy and the Czech Amateur. He also reached the second round of the British Amateur Championship at Hillside and finished tied tenth in the South of England Amateur at Walton Heath.

After the Tailhade Cup the pair will stay in Buenos Aires for the Argentine Amateur Championship at San Isidro Golf Club on 15th – 20th November.

The Argentine Amateur has a 36-hole stroke play qualifying competition with the leading 64 players going forward to the match play knockout. Each round is over 18 holes with the final over 36. Luke Goddard won the title in 2008.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress